Book Tag – Shelfie By Shelfie #11

Published September 26, 2018 by bibliobeth

Image edited from: <a href=”http://www.freepik.com/free-photos-vectors/frame”>Frame image created by Jannoon028 – Freepik.com</a>

Hi everyone and welcome to a brand new tag – Shelfie by Shelfie that I was inspired to create late one night when I couldn’t sleep. If you want to join in, you share a picture (or “shelfie”) of one of your shelves i.e. favourites, TBR, however you like to organise them, and then answer ten questions that are based around that particular shelf. I have quite a large collection and am going to do every single bookshelf which comprises both my huge TBR and the books I’ve read and kept but please, don’t feel obliged to do every shelf yourself if you fancy doing this tag. I’d love to see anything and just a snapshot of your collection would be terrific and I’m sure, really interesting for other people to see!

Here are the other Shelfies I’ve done: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  7 8 9 and 10.

Anyway – on with the tag, we’re finally onto the top shelf of my second bookshelf. I’ve chosen not to bother sharing the bottom shelf of my first bookshelf as it’s filled with all myself and my boyfriend’s science textbooks and nobody’s interested in those, are they?!

And here are the questions!:

1.) Is there any reason for this shelf being organised the way it is or is it purely random?

Finally Beth, we have some organisation and things look a bit tidier! This bookshelf has the honour of being one of my emptiest and most organised bookshelf. If only they all could be like this – sigh. Up on the top shelf we have mostly non fiction hardbacks which belong to both my boyfriend and myself. He tends to primarily read non fiction but will indulge in a fiction from time to time (more about that later).

2.) Tell us a story about one of the books on this shelf that is special to you i.e. how you got it/ a memory associated with it etc.

I’m going to go with Thames: Sacred River by Peter Ackroyd. I haven’t read this book yet but Mr B (my other half) has and highly recommends it. Whenever I look at this book I think of him and the time we spent together living in London. We moved to the countryside a couple of years ago to get away from the busyness and hectic commute that I had when living in London but I still have very fond memories of the city and the exciting things we did when we were there.

3.) Which book from this shelf would you ditch if you were forced to and why?

Funnily enough this isn’t a hard question this time round as it would be one of Mr B’s books – The Zone Of Interest by Martin Amis. I recently read a short story by Martin Amis called The Coincidence Of The Arts and have always been curious about him as a writer. I really didn’t enjoy it and probably won’t read anything else by him, he just isn’t an author for me.

4.) Which book from this shelf would you save in an emergency and why?

It would be The Casual Vacancy, an adult novel by J.K. Rowling. I probably won’t re-read it myself but I gave it to Mr B some time ago as I thought he would enjoy it and he STILL hasn’t got round to reading it yet. I would save it and then push it into his hands, reminding him that he still has to read it!

5.) Which book has been on this shelf for the longest time?

That again would be Thames: Sacred River by Peter Ackroyd which Mr B and I have had since our London days.

6.) Which book is the newest addition to this shelf?

That would be the book at the end which is The Brief History Of Everyone Who Ever Lived: The Stories In Our Genes by Adam Rutherford. It was a Christmas present from my family to Mr B but I’m planning to get my paws on it either before he gets round to reading it or afterwards.

7.) Which book from this shelf are you most excited to read (or re-read if this is a favourites shelf?)

A VERY easy choice. That would be The Book Of Barely Imagined Beings: A 21st Century Bestiary by Caspar Henderson and Golbanou Moghaddas (illustrator). First of all, look at that cover. Then, look at the inside. My little bibliophile heart is going crazy for all the gorgeousness!

How childish of me to choose the illustration with the “genital fingered” stomatopod. Tee hee.

8.) If there is an object on this shelf apart from books, tell us the story behind it.

There are two beautiful bookends on this shelf which are two brass monkeys reading. How apt! This is a very special object to me as they were a present from Mr B when he passed by a charity shop, saw them and couldn’t resist buying them for me! I adore them with all my heart.

9.) What does this shelf tell us about you as a reader?

I think this shelf says that I appreciate a beautiful book, I love to share books with my other half and that I enjoy a good non fiction read from time to time.

10.) Choose other bloggers to tag or choose a free question you make up yourself.

I won’t tag anyone but if anyone wants to do this tag, I’d be delighted and I’d love to see your shelfie.

For other Shelfie by Shelfies round the blogosphere, please see:

Chrissi @ Chrissi Reads FAVOURITES shelfie HERE and her Shelfie by Shelfie 2 HERE.

Sarah @ The Aroma Of Books Shelfie 1A, 1B, 1C 1D and 1E

Dee @ Dees Rad Reads And Reviews Shelfie HERE

Jacquie @ Rattle The Stars Shelfie HERE

Stuart @ Always Trust In Books Shelfie #1 HERE.

Jennifer @ Tar Heel Reader Shelfie #1, 2, 3, 4  5, 6, and 7

Paula @ Book Jotter Shelfie #1 HERE.

Gretchen @ Thoughts Become Words Shelfie HERE.

Kathy @ Pages Below The Vaulted Sky Shelfie by Shelfie #1 HERE.

Jenn, Eden and Caitlynn @ Thrice Read Share A Shelfie HERE.

Thank you so much to Chrissi, Sarah, Dee, Jacquie, Stuart, Jennifer, Paula, Gretchen, Kathy, Jenn, Eden and Caitlynn for participating in Shelfie by Shelfie, it really means the world to me. Hugs!

If you’ve done this tag or you’re one of the people above and I’ve missed out one of your shelfies please let me know and I’d be happy to add you to Shelfie by Shelfies round the blogosphere!

COMING SOON on bibliobeth : Shelfie by Shelfie #12

21 comments on “Book Tag – Shelfie By Shelfie #11

    • Thank you! I was absolutely delighted when Mr B presented me with them, he was so proud of himself 😂 I haven’t read it yet but apparently all the strange creatures in Imagined Beings actually exist!! 😳

  • LITERAL LOL @ you saving The Casual Vacancy from a fire to shove it into your boyfriend’s hands!! If all the other books burned, he’d have no choice 😉 I’m exactly the same way, I’ve been on my husband’s back to read My Brilliant Friend for a good six months or so now, he’s FINALLY picked it up this week, and I couldn’t be happier 😀 I love this tag and your answers to these questions, I’ll have to give it a go myself at some point soon!! ❤

    • Thank you so much I would LOVE to see a Shelfie from you! You know I wonder if our partners do this on purpose? Just to see us squirm? When they have every intention of reading the book?! 🙄😂

      • Oh, I’m *sure* they do – plus, they know the longer they drag it out, the more praise they’ll get once they finally do read it 😂

  • Comments make me go to my happy place...

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.